Ronnie O’Sullivan was named as the BBC’s Sportsman of the Year for the first time in his career. In addition to O’Sullivan, Lewis Hamilton (Formula One), Stuart Broad (cricket), Jordan Henderson (football), Holly Doyle (equestrian) and Tyson Fury (boxing) are also nominated. Details about how the vote will be held will also be available soon. The BBC’s Sportsman of the Year will be televised on BBC One on Sunday 20 December and the winner will be named after a public vote.

According to the World Snooker website, this is the first time snooker has been among the contenders for the main award since Stephen Hendry in 1990. And the only snooker player to win it was Steve Davis in 1988. WST chairman Barry Hearn: “It’s well deserved for the greatest snooker player and one of the most talented British athletes of all time. His nomination is long overdue, so I’m glad he’s finally on the shortlist. Ronnie’s popularity among fans helps us develop snooker around the world. I hope that he will win this award and that everyone who loves sports will vote for him based on his incredible achievements over the years.”

BBC director of sport Barbara Slater said: “As we know it has been a strange and unprecedented year, we are still lucky to have seen many sporting achievements that we will be happy to celebrate this evening. The BBC’s 67th Sportsman of the Year award promises to be another exciting and difficult choice for viewers.”

This prestigious award has been awarded since 1954.

The winners of this prestigious award include Formula One drivers Nigel Mansell, Damon Hill and Lewis Hamilton, footballers Michael Owen, Paul Gascoigne and David Beckham, boxer Lennox Lewis, cyclists Mark Cavendish and Bradley Wiggins, tennis players Andy Murray and Greg Rusedski.

More snooker stories are already waiting for you:

The Scottish Open ended with the victory of Mark Selby, who defeated Ronnie O’Sullivan 9-3 in the final. Mark successfully defended the title: last season he beat Jack Lisowski in the final (9:6). Selby took the 19th title and equaled Neil Robertson and Judd Trump. Mark won 11th of the last 11 finals and repeated Stephen Hendry’s record. All the victories were in the last four seasons.

The first session of the Northern Ireland Open final has ended. World leader Judd Trump still beats six-time world champion Ronnie O’Sullivan 5-3. Trump scored 55, 69 and 128 points, and O’Sullivan had one three-point break with 130 points. The final to 9 wins will continue on November 22 at 22:00 Moscow time. In the 2018 and 2019 finals, Trump and O’Sullivan also found out their relationship. In both cases, Trump won 9-7.